Coronet of a baron United Kingdom peerage creations 1801 to 2009: a list compiled by David Beamish

Home page

Home page | Chronological list 1801–2009 | Alphabetical index 1801–2009 | List of administrations
Chronological list 1801–1900 | Chronological list 1901–1950 | Chronological list 1951–1985 | Chronological list 1986–2009
Alphabetical index 1801–1900 | Alphabetical index 1901–1950 | Alphabetical index 1951–1985 | Alphabetical index 1986–2009
Alphabetical index A–D | Alphabetical index E–K | Alphabetical index L–R | Alphabetical index S–Z
Peerages created under the Life Peerages Act 1958 | Index thereof | Other peerages since 1 August 1958
Peerages conferred on women | Index thereof | Table of peerage creations by administration | Special remainders

This site provides a list of United Kingdom peerage creations since 1801. It includes a chronological list of peerage creations, together with an alphabetical index. These pages are about 500 and 300 kilobytes respectively and so may take a while to load on a slow connection. So I have also included versions divided into four web pages. In the case of the index there are versions divided chronologically and alphabetically. The indexes offer hyperlinks to the corresponding entries in the chronological lists.

If you have a fast connection you may prefer the new version of this site at which includes only the full list and index and may be easier to navigate.

Additional lists (on both sites) show life peerages created under the Life Peerages Act 1958, other peerages created since 1958, and peerages conferred on women. In the case of this last list, it should be noted that peerages created before 1958 did not confer membership of the House of Lords on the original grantee.

A list showing details of special remainders has been added. It includes all hereditary peerages which descend other than to "heirs male of the body lawfully begotten". Such peerages are shown in the chronological lists by a note "(special remainder)" linking to the relevant entry.

There is also a table showing numbers of peerage creations since 1880 by administration. Each page has links to every other (in the case of the list and index pages, at the foot as well as at the head of the page).

Comments and suggestions are welcome.

In the chronological list, dates of creation (i.e. dates of letters patent) are shown against a colour-coded background identifying the administration under which the peerage was created. For details see the list of administrations. Colour-coding has yet to be added for peerages created prior to 1837. For the period 1837 to 1911 my attributions to administrations are taken from a doctoral thesis The creation of peerages in England 1837–1911 presented to the Faculty of the Graduate School of Yale University in 1934 by the late Ralph Everett Pumphrey and later microfilmed by University Microfilms, Inc., Ann Arbor, Michigan. (reference 6716593).

Peerage types are shown as follows in the chronological lists:

ALife peerage under the Appellate Jurisdiction Act 1876
HHereditary peerage
H:IHereditary peerage conferred on a holder of a peerage of Ireland
H:S  Hereditary peerage conferred on a holder of a peerage of Scotland
LLife peerage under the Life Peerages Act 1958 (not used in the list of life peerages)
L:HLife peerage under the Life Peerages Act 1958 conferred on a hereditary peer
PPromotion in the peerage of a hereditary peer
XAdditional (eXtra) peerage, not being a promotion, conferred on a hereditary peer

Ranks in the peerage are abbreviated as follows in both the chronological lists and the indexes:

M.  MarquessMss  Marchioness
L.Lord (= Baron)      B.Baroness

Where the recipient of a peerage has died, the date of death is noted. Where a hereditary peerage has become extinct, the date of extinction is noted in the form "extinct(#)" where "#" represents the number of the last holder of the peerage.

Site last updated: 1 June 2009.

Valid HTML 4.01!